

ILLINOIS MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE ACADEMY

Opening Convocation

August 30, 1987

"A Pioneering Educational Community"

"We must dare to think 'unthinkable' thoughts. We must learn to explore all the options and possibilities that confront us in a complex and rapidly changing world. We must learn to welcome and not to fear the voices of dissent. We must dare to think about 'unthinkable things' because when things become unthinkable, thinking stops and action becomes mindless."

— James William Fulbright

Convocation Ceremony

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

7.00 PM

Opening Selections 1st Class Brass

"Music from the Royal Fireworks"

by George Frederich Handel

Processional

"Rondeau"

by Jean Joseph Mouret

Mr. James D. Pearson Welcome.

President, Board of Trustees

Dr. Leon Lederman

Director, Fermi Laboratory V.P., Board of Trustees

Introductions

Administrators Dr. Stephanie A. Marshall

Director

John D. Court **Faculty**

Principal

Resident Counselors Cathy Veal

Dean of Student Services

Musical Selection

"Poet and Peasant Overture"

by Franz Von Suppe

Keynote Speaker

Ones You Will Have to Make"

Dr. Michael S. Turner Associate Professor "Exciting Discoveries in Physics:

Astronomy Astrophysics and Physics Ones I Know About and

Enrico Fermi Institute

The University of Chicago and

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

Recessional

"Rejoicing"

by George Frederick Von Suppe

Reception in Atrium

IMSA STAFF

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Dr. LeRoy Ducksworth

Ms. Sheila Griffin Mr. Gary Jewel

Dr. Leon Lederman

Mr. John Marion

Dr. Walter Massey

Mr. John McEachern

Dr. David Mintzer Mr. James D. Pearson

Dr. David Pierce

Dr. Anthony Sadowski

Mr. Ted Sanders

Ms. Barbara Schmulbach

Mrs. Elise Scott

Mr. Jesus Manuel Sosa Dr. Richard Wagner

ADMINISTRATORS/SUPERVISORS

Dr. Stephanie Marshall

Dr. David Barr Jim Bondi

Tom Brandenburg

John Court

Connie Jo Hatcher Tim Klomhaus

Dr. LuAnn Smith

Cathy Veal

Naomi Velazquez-Geltner

Gregg Worrell

FACULTY

Jerry Balin Rick Bryant

Ellen Bumba
Dr. Charles Cannon

Dr. Neill Clark Dr. Richard Corby

Carl Dillow
Sue Eddins

Dr. Ed Goebel Dr. Dana Goodman

David Gottshall Marti Guarin

Chuck Hamberg

Bernie Hollister

Carl Kajor Jean Kaminski Chris Kawa

Dr. Riva Kuhl

Patrick LaMaster Elia Lopez

Sandy Lopez
Dr. Lena Lucietto
Cheryl McGuirk

John Martin
Patrick McWilliams

Joe Meyer

Rose Moore

Dr. Jim Morrison

Dr. Ron Pine

Mark Running Mike Sloan John Stark

Bill Stepien

Joyce Suber Barbara Taylor

Mary Van Verst Ron Vavrinek

Dr. Dave Workman

RESIDENTIAL COUNSELORS

Brian Bazan Steve Blunt Angela Childs Harold Cline Krist Enstrom

Julie Freund

Wendy Goewy Keith McIntosh Eric McLaren Linda Natchke David Ohlenchek Terry Slaney Denise Sparrow Ogden Spruill Melissa Striegel Vince Trtan Barb Wyatt